Call for nominations for the prestigious AWIEF Awards celebrating women and men entrepreneurs

Nominations are now open for the 2022 edition of the prestigious AWIEF ( Awards, which recognize, honor and celebrate women entrepreneurs and business owners across Africa and across multiple industries for their achievements and contribution to the continent’s inclusive economic growth and societal development.

AWIEF (Africa Women Innovation & Entrepreneurship Forum) ( is an award-winning pan-African women’s economic empowerment organization working to close the gender gap by advancing women’s entrepreneurship and entrepreneurship in Africa.

Nominees for the AWIEF Awards should be emerging and established female entrepreneurs and founders who, despite challenges, have demonstrated outstanding vision, leadership and inspiration to make a significant social impact and/or succeed in their businesses in line with AWIEF’s core areas of innovation to become. Technology, Entrepreneurship, Leadership and Socio-Economic Development.

The winners of the 2022 AWIEF Awards will be announced and celebrated at a special ceremony and gala dinner at the AWIEF2022 Conference ( to be held on September 26-27, 2022 in Cairo. Egypt, with the subject “Advancing Africa through Gender Inclusion”.

The AWIEF Awards consist of 8 categories with the following criteria:

The Young Entrepreneur Award

Nominees must be between the ages of 18 and 35 and demonstrate leadership in their field and the importance of entrepreneurship for positive change. The young entrepreneurs must have achieved concrete and material successes (turnover and number of employees can indicate this).

Tech Entrepreneur Award

The nominees should be female entrepreneurs who have built an innovative, disruptive and game-changing technology company or start-up.

Agricultural Entrepreneur Award

Nominees should be female entrepreneurs who have successfully started an agricultural business and have a product or service in the agricultural value chain with strong evidence of traction and impact in their communities.

Creative Industry Prize

Nominees should be women entrepreneurs with outstanding achievements in the creative industries, including music, performing arts, film, television and radio, software and interactive content such as virtual reality and augmented reality, media writing, publishing and print media, design and visual arts.

Empowerment Prize

The nominees should be women who have made a significant contribution and investment in inspiring, mentoring and empowering women and girls, thereby making a significant impact on the communities in which they serve and society at large.

Entrepreneur Energy Award

Nominees should be women entrepreneurs in the oil and gas and/or green energy and renewable energy sectors who operate successful businesses that impact energy access and availability in their communities and countries.

Social Entrepreneur Award

The nominees should be women entrepreneurs who have developed an innovative, systemic, and sustainable solution that directly addresses a social problem, thereby having a transformative social impact on their communities and countries.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Nominees should be established women entrepreneurs who have demonstrated sustained and consistent success in business and exceptional and outstanding corporate leadership. The award also recognizes significant contributions to job creation and the economy.

Last year’s winner of the AWIEF Lifetime Achievement Award was Margaret Hirsch, co-founder and CEO of Hirsch’s Homestores Group, the largest independently owned retail home appliances and electronics store in Southern Africa. She says: “It’s been a big, big honor and for me I use it to help other women understand that 1: they need to be recognized, 2: they need to show themselves, and 3: they need to get things done .”

Irene Ochem, Founder and Chief Executive Officer of AWIEF, says: “There are many outstanding entrepreneurs and businesswomen across Africa driving growth, creating opportunity and positively influencing the continent. Our 6thth For this edition of the AWIEF Awards, we are once again thrilled to celebrate and shine the spotlight on these inspiring women entrepreneurs and to share their outstanding and successful stories.”

Nominations for the AWIEF Awards 2022 close on April 3rdapprox June 2022. You can either nominate yourself or nominate someone else.

The nomination process:

  1. Visit
  2. Register an attendee profile by clicking Submit Entry at the top right of the page.
  3. Complete and submit the nomination form.

Entries will be judged by a respected panel of business leaders and professionals.

Click here ( to see the winners of the AWIEF Awards 2021:

More information by email [email protected]

Distributed by APO Group on behalf of the Africa Women Innovation and Entrepreneurship Forum (AWIEF).

This press release was issued by APO. The content is not monitored by the African Business editorial team and the content has not been reviewed or validated by our editors, proofreaders or fact-checkers. The issuer is solely responsible for the content of this announcement.

Leave a Comment